Now’s your chance to recognize a colleague for superior service

For his success and distinction in research, teaching and extension — not least of which includes spearheading UF’s new Honey Bee Research and Extension Laboratory — Professor Jamie Ellis of the IFAS Department of Entomology and Nematology was awarded the Superior Accomplishment Award for Academic Personnel last year.

“It is through his tireless efforts and statesmanship that this lab has come to fruition and will place UF IFAS at the forefront of honey bee research, teaching and extension,” wrote his nominators. “His work with the Florida State Beekeepers Association, IFAS Relations and the Florida State Legislature to secure funding and then to coordinate activities to develop plans for construction has been nothing short of herculean.”

Beyond these activities, Ellis has become an important partner to UF/IFAS Government Affairs and IFAS Relations, as he hosts visitors including congressional delegations and potential donors to the lab.

“He has been a remarkable spokesman for all of IFAS in facilitating interactions with these important stakeholders and governmental leaders,” his nominators wrote.

Like Ellis, many UF faculty and staff provide meritorious service across campus and beyond each day. Other Superior Accomplishment Award winners last year were recognized for everything from orchestrating relief and repair efforts after two hurricanes to taking the time to train people to use lab equipment across departments. There is simply no shortage of stories when it comes to Gators doing good.

Celebrating its 30th year, the Superior Accomplishment Awards program will recognize faculty and staff who have contributed outstanding service in their fields between Aug. 1, 2017, and July 31, 2018. Nominations for the 2019 awards program are due Wednesday, Oct. 31.

Division-level winners receive $200 along with a certificate of appreciation and university memento. Each division winner is then eligible for one of eight university-level awards of $2,000 each or one of eight $1,000 awards sponsored by The Gabor Agency (four awards) and The Standard Insurance Agency (four awards). In addition, each overall category university-level winner and a guest will be invited to attend a UF football game in the President’s Box next season.

Winners will be selected in eight categories: Clerical/Office Support, Support Services, Scientific/Technical, Administrative/Supervisory, Administrative/Professional, Academic Personnel, Community Service, and Diversity and Inclusion.

For additional information about the Superior Accomplishment Awards program — including a list of divisional chairs, nomination criteria, award categories and nomination forms — visit the Superior Accomplishment Awards section of the UFHR website.